Product details

Series A, concertos
om52 / Volume 2
Johann Gottlieb Graun (1701/2–1771)
Violinkonzert c-Moll (GraunWV A:XIII:18)
Violin concerto in C minor
Edited by Christoph Henzel

Graun wrote at least 83 solo concertos, a number of double concertos, and a few group concertos with solo violin. Nine of the solo concertos are known only by entries in catalogues, while the music itself is lost. The remaining 74 pieces have survived only in manuscript copies. Unfortunately only for eight of these the attribution to Johann Gottlieb Graun is absolutely certain. Most of the manuscript sources were prepared by copyists that had no close relationship to the composer, or they merely bear the name “Graun”. It is to be assumed, however, that compositions for solo violin among the Grauniana most probably stem from Graun the concert master.

(Christoph Henzel, translation by Stephanie Wollny)

Go back